Go Back   GeekChat! > ELECTRIC GUITAR > Guitars

Like Tree3Likes

Share/Bookmark

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10.04.11, 2:18 PM

Franko is on a distinguished road
EMG Pickups....metal only?

Hey.
I have been using EMG's for more than ten years, and I think I may be experiencing a case of being so familuar with a certain sound that nothing else compares.
I recently bought a guitar that came with 2 Seymour Duncan Alnico II Pro pickups, they sounded very good, and the cleans were beautiful, however
I still felt that overall they lacked the "punch" I was used to with my EMG's.

I often find them being pigeonholed as being a "metal only" pickup. Where as I myself have used them for years for playing all styles of music.
I recently had some single coil EMG SAV pickups installed in my strat and they are great for everything from funk to country.
And after doing some research I found that many non-metal players have used EMG's over the years, people like David Gilmour from Pink Floyd.
And I was really surprised to learn that one of Prince's main guitars has an EMG 81 in the bridge.

Just curious to get your feedback...

Old 10.04.11, 4:02 PM

screamingdaisy is on a distinguished road
They get pigeonholed as metal pickups for the EMG 81, but there's plenty of other players that use them. Their single coils used to be common in the country due to them being noiseless, and plenty of rock guitarists still use them.

I believe they were originally marketed towards jazz/fusion players due to their ability to maintain articulation (and reduce noise) when soloing... which is ironic in a way because a lot of the early Mesa users where jazz/fusion players and not metalheads.

Guitar -> Wah -> Amp -> Cab
Old 10.05.11, 11:24 AM

fbccars924 is on a distinguished road
Sooo..... your saying the most metal equipment out there was designed for jazz? my mind=blown(no sarcasm for once)

Hamer(standard tuning) Ernie ball Slinkies
Alvarez Dana Scoop (standard tuning) D'adarrio 10's