Go Back   GeekChat! > HOME RECORDING > Recording Gear

Share/Bookmark

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02.14.08, 6:18 AM

andreas_m is an unknown quantity at this point
I'm new to all this. Help?

Hi, for awhile now I've wanted to start a home recording project. Two problems: I don't really play any instruments, and, I have no idea how to do any of this stuff. Since I have no instrumental experience, I guess I'd just be an experimenter with different sounds...can I get any help as to where to start? What I should buy/do? I guess I'd wanna experiment with guitar and different drum sounds...I own a drum set/guitar (they were my brother's) so I'd use those. I guess I'd need a cheap recorder/synth/sampler/whatever...like I said, no experience, but I think I know enough about music composition to start something. I'd have to say my favorite bands/composers would be....

Stereolab
Liars (last album was awesome)
Gui Boratto (Chromophobia)
Kevin Drumm
The Field
Ricardo Villalobos (amazing)
Panda Bear/Animal Collective (probably my favorite)
No Age
Joy Division
MBV
Steve Reich
Deerhunter

They would be my key influences.

I'm not asking for much.... just anything in terms of producing/recording a sound. Thanks in advance!

Old 02.14.08, 9:57 AM

guitarose is an unknown quantity at this point
I'd say forget about a sampler and get an audio interface and a mic to use with your computer. that can be your sampler, with way more flexibility. many interfaces also allow midi; which from the sounds of things you'd want to get into at some point..

give us a budget to help us be more specific.

For Sale/trade, PM for info:
Quote:
Originally posted by DAVIDCOUPE
Guitarose has had one for sale in his sig since i joined this ****ing site. Somebody just buy it!
Epiphone Alleykat (w/hard case)
DOD fx25B Diago gigman pedalboard (virtually as new) Boss OC-2 MXR Dynacomp
Old 02.14.08, 11:36 AM

Johnny the Boy is an unknown quantity at this point