Go Back   GeekChat! > HOME RECORDING > Recording Gear

Share/Bookmark

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07.22.09, 1:11 AM

SlinkyMan is an unknown quantity at this point
New Shoegaze Recordings

Its been a long time since I posted here looks like the site is running/looking way nicer than before. I'm an amateur (perhaps budding is a better word) recording engineer, my friend and I started recording music on my Mac with Tools LE. Neither of us own amps anymore so we plug DI into an Mbox and try to wrangle the sound digitally (we love shoegaze/psychedelic music).

Not long ago I had a trial version of IK Classiks Studio Reverb which had Inverse reverb and was pretty nice but I was wondering had anybody found other plugin reverbs w/inverse? Also does anybody who makes shoegaze/drone/experimental music on computers (DI/Synths/VST's) have any favorite virtual instruments or plugins which they swear by? I have no idea what to choose from the vast plugin world of drum-machines, delays, eq's, synths, etc. The sounds we are trying to achieve are much like Boris, My Bloody Valentine, Medicine, The Psychic Paramount, Aphex Twin... here are a few very recently recorded songs- http://www.myspace.com/mellowhollowlove

Old 07.22.09, 2:25 AM

Hides-His-Eyes is on a distinguished road
Well i seriously like what you've done so far even if i'm no help!
Old 07.22.09, 2:49 AM

Thank you. I wonder how many guitargeeks enjoy a bit of shoegaze these days. I seem to remember a while back there were quite a few fans.
Old 07.22.09, 3:03 AM

earlyreflections is on a distinguished road
Welcome back Slinky! Your a fellow Australian also!! I'm from South Australia and quite a shoegazing fan indeed!