Go Back   GeekChat! > GUITARGEEK RIGS > User Rigs

Share/Bookmark

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07.22.10, 10:55 AM

guitarmick69 is on a distinguished road
Replacing a Rig for a working band

Hi all!

I’m in need of advice. I’m new to GeekChat, so please be gentle!

I play in a contemporary country/rock’n’roll/classic rock/blues cover band. Basically, anything that’ll make people dance, from Johnny Cash to AC/DC, we will play! We play one to two times a month in small to medium-sized clubs (100-300 people average) and outdoor shows during summer months. Amazingly, every time we play we're offered more gigs and people seem to like us, so I want my sound to be as reliable as possible.

The dilemma: I’m replacing a POD 2.0 that I put directly into the sound man's PA and which has worked well – it was reliable and I liked the flexibility and versatility, though, I know, it’s NOT a tube amp! I began using it when my Fender Twin Reverb and vintage pedals kept giving me troubles at gigs, everything from needing maintenance to noise to multiple cables crapping out, etc. My question is about what rig to replace it with: a digital amp modeler, as I’ve been using successfully for two years, or a more traditional amp? I have lots of equipment I could shed to make a purchase, but my requirements are this: whatever I get should be durable – won’t break down in the next five years; and it should be versatile.