Go Back   GeekChat! > SONGWRITING > Verse-Chorus-Verse

Share/Bookmark

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09.12.04, 5:02 PM

Uldrin is an unknown quantity at this point
Guitar to Piano Arrangements

Well, as some of you might know, I'm a U2 fan. Currently I'm trying to make some piano arrangements of some U2 songs. With or Without You and I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For. Both are great ballads.

The problem I have is I'm green to arranging music, and I don't know a whole lot about it. I've been playing piano for about 9 years, so I don't really have any problems with chords and stuff like that, but I tend to repeat one phrase too often.

If there's anyone that has ever done anything like arranging songs like this into piano type stuff, please help me out.

7watt amp of some kind

Fender Princeton 65 w/ Effects (Chorus,Flange,Reverb,Tremolo,Delay and Vibrato)

Old 09.19.04, 1:37 PM

Colder_rythm is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to Colder_rythm
as a pianist you have acess to chords that are impossible to play on guitar as well as the ability to play two completly differernt parts at once

before continuing i will state two things
1)not all things that sound good on guitar will sound good on piano
2)im not a u2 fan(i have no idea what songs your talking about)

now those two things said

for lead guitar parts: keep them where they are or you could try making it into a harmony

for rythm guitar: for bar chrods try breaking them up into different parts(its probly a good idea to try to maintain the melody of the song)

for the bass parts: make it into chords and dont play in the rythm that the bass plays. id say just let it ring. you can ignore some of the notes if you want to.

just an idea from a terrible pianist
Old 09.21.04, 11:32 AM

exit assasin is an unknown quantity at this point