Go Back   GeekChat! > SONGWRITING > Verse-Chorus-Verse

Share/Bookmark

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06.24.05, 1:42 PM

conksu is an unknown quantity at this point
Guitar Theory

I consider myself a decent guitar player and a very creative musician, but writing songs has always been a challenge because I really don't know the theory behind what I'm playing. Most of the time I just get lucky when the chord I play sounds like what I hear in my head.
Does anyone know any good books or other resources to learn some music theory and how it relates to guitar? I have SOME music theory background, so it doesn't have to be totally beginner level....

Thanks.

Old 06.24.05, 7:46 PM

ShredCrazed is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to ShredCrazed
Not sure if this could work for you but when I started learning theory I went out and bought a scale book. After studying that for a long time all the patterns just started fitting together in my head like pieces a puzzle and suddenly I understood how to contruct all the different chords and what notes belong in each key etc.
Old 06.29.05, 12:23 PM

BlueHeaven is an unknown quantity at this point
One thing I would suggest if you are having trouble finding what chord to go to next is to learn your circle of fifths inside and out, including all relative majors and minors. This will help you from just randomly hits chords and not knowing which chords will fit.

Also, learning how to modulate (switch from one key to another) is very usually and help to create a less drone sounding song that uses the same 3 chords over and over. Learn your 7ths for this and your diminished chords. Knowing that say F 7th wants to pull to B flat is some of the most usefull information when trying to write a song. There are hundreds of theory books out there, I dont know which one is better than the other though, trick is just to practice and get a feel for which chords progressions work.